Dark Side of the Half Moon – rehearsal update

Dark Side flyerWell, the first week of rehearsals for Dark Side of the Half Moon is over, and the whole cast are having a ball!

The script is genuinely one of the best pieces of new writing I’ve ever had in my hands, and the whole cast and crew haven’t stopped laughing all week as we’ve put the show together.  It’s a hilarious script, and if you’re in the area I urge you to get along to the Customs House (or on their website) and get your tickets.  You’ll be sorry you missed out!

CAST

Trevor  NEIL ARMSTRONG
Rob  JAMES HEDLEY
Sheilagh  KYLIE ANN FORD
Jesus  PAUL DUNN
Harry  KEITH HENDERSON
Tommy  BOB STOTT
Stan  GARETH HUNTER

Directed by GARETH HUNTER
Assistant director  JACKIE FIELDING
DSM  DANIELLE MILLER

This part is a bit of a challenge for me, if I’m honest.  For one thing, my character is a bit of a stoner, and I’ve never smoked dope in my life (honest!) so I’m researching the role by watching mad stoned hippies on youtube.  Also, my character is a big Pink Floyd fan and I’ve never really listened to their stuff before.  So that’s been a bit of an education – getting all the albums out of the library and listening to them.  (It’s a great show for Floyd fans this, by the way!)

Meanwhile, the crew have been getting the set and props (there are a lot of props) into the theatre today – including the fitting of a genuine working beer pump.  Yes, folks, we’ll be drinking real beer on stage – so it’s worth buying a ticket, just to see if I get to the end of the play without forgetting the words!

The play runs from this Wednesday, 11th – 14th September.  Get your tickets booked, and get down to the Customs House for a great night!  Support local theatre!…

Leave a Reply

