Edinburgh 2013 – day 2 of 8 (Sat 3rd August)

I told you yesterday ended up in an alcoholic blur, didn’t I?  Turns out I saw another show later in the evening.  Ronny Cheing was his name, I think. Stand-up guy.  Can’t remember a bloody thing about it…

I started off today with a one-man show about Graham Chapman, called Not The Messiah.  Being a huge Python fan, I expected not to like it, if I’m honest.  I’ve got my own ideas for a one-man Python show (which I WILL bring to Ed one year!) so anything else is bound to suffer by comparison.  But as it turned out I did enjoy it.  The actor was very good – and pretty believable as Chapman – and the writing wasn’t bad.  Although I was very vexed in the first five minutes of the show when they got a date wrong.  The first ever Python show was aired on 5th October 1969 – they said it was 21st October.  Unforgivable, I’m afraid.

The next show was a comp; Eilish O’Carroll (Winnie from Mrs Brown’s Boys) doing a ‘story of my life’ type show.  I’ll be honest, I didn’t expect to like this one either, and was only going to it because I got in for nowt.  I’m so glad I did see it, and I couldn’t have been more wrong.  It was a wonderful hour spent in the company of a woman who was funny, charming, witty, engaging, erudite, and thoroughly entertaining.  This show is one of my recommendations for the Fringe so far.

The last show of today was the New Zealand Ukelele Orchestra, at Gilded Balloon.  A great show, performed by a bunch of not only very talented but also very charismatic people. The only downside to it was realising after we’d paid full price for the tickets that we could have got them half price with a voucher from The Scotsman, which we’d already bought and were carrying around with us.

I think, for the rest of the day, we just got steadily drunker…

One comment

Leave a Reply

