Edinburgh 2012 – Day 6 of 8 (Thursday 9th Aug)

Oh my god. OMG. Ohh Emmm Geee. What the hell have they done to the Pleasance Dome? Gone are the massive murals that covered every wall, depicting charactertures of famous comedians from previous years. The place has had a refurbishment, and now it looks like a massive Swedish sauna. I don’t like it. I don’t like it at all. What’s happened to you Edinburgh Fringe, man? You’ve changed.

The new-looking Pleasance Dome.

An interesting bunch of shows in today’s line-up. We started off by seeing Peep; an interesting idea where the audience members sit in solitary little booths around the edge of a portacabin, listening through headphones and looking in on the action. We saw the first of three plays on offer, in which a husband tries to resurrect the sex in his marriage by dressing as Tim Curry from The Rocky Horror Show. An interesting, 20-minute piece, in which I got to see a naked lady. (Just her arse and the side of her left breast, though.)

Horrible Histories – Barmy Britain was next, and was brilliant. If you’ve seen the tv show you know the kind of thing to expect, and the two actors in this show deliver brilliant sketches and songs at a cracking pace.

In fact, there was a lot of sketch comedy in our diaries today. We caught Bristol Revunions, The Three Englishmen, The Ginge The Geordie and The Geek, and Casual Violence: A Kick In The Teeth. I’ve seen Ginge Geordie Geek’s flyers at every Edinburgh fringe I’ve ever been to, I think, and it’s always been exactly the same (the three of them in Superman pose, wearing just a pair of Y-fronts), but I’ve never actually seen one of their shows. It was okay, I guess, but I don’t think I’ll see them again. The Englishmen and Casual Violence, on the other hand, were both shows that I could see over and over, and are in my list of top recommendations of my whole 2012 fringe. The sheer energy of both shows, not to mention the talent of the performers, makes them a real joy to watch from beginning to end.

Rafiq Richard is confused

We also caught my mate, Rafiq Richard’s show, Walk Like A Black Man. I saw him perform it last year in London too, but it was good to see the tweaks and re-writes. It’s well worth a look (but make sure you arrive in plenty of time because the venue (C eca – yes folks, it’s C venues again!) is an unsigned labyrinth which we very nearly failed to find our way out of again at the end.)

It’s getting to the end of the week now, and I have no idea how much money I’ve spent on tickets.  To be honest, I dread to think.

Shows seen today: 7
Running Total: 40

Leave a Reply

